Reference

Questions and answers

Short answers to the questions readers ask most. Each one links to the page that explains it in full, with sources.

Air pumps and aeration

Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

Mostly indirectly. Aquarium Co-Op says bubbles create water movement and surface agitation, which is key to gas exchange, and a 2020 lab study found oxygen uptake from the air depended strongly on water flow and open surface. More in do air bubbles add oxygen? More in Aquarium air pumps and aeration

Which air pump is the quietest?

Published dB figures cannot answer that across brands. FishLab held its meter 6 inches from each pump, ModestFish placed its meter next to the pump, and Aquarium Co-Op and Fluval state no method at all. Compare figures only within one publisher's own test. More in Aquarium air pumps and aeration

Why is my air pump suddenly loud?

Tetra says a Whisper pump that stops producing air or gets very loud may have a worn rubber diaphragm, a wear part, and that a dual-port pump is very loud unless airline is fitted to both ports. Do not open a mains-powered pump yourself. More in Aquarium air pumps and aeration

Can I use a 230 V air pump in the US with a plug adapter?

No. A plug adapter changes the plug shape, not the voltage. Some pumps are made only for 230-240 V / 50 Hz mains, such as Sicce's AIRLIGHT range, and EHEIM's air100 page lists 50 Hz ratings only. Choose a variant rated 120 V / 60 Hz. More in Aquarium air pumps and aeration

How long does a battery-backup air pump run?

Only the maker's figures exist. Aquarium Co-Op states about 20 hours of continuous running, or 40 hours in Power Save mode, for current units, and 8 and 16 hours for units sold before August 1, 2024. See battery-backup air pumps. More in Aquarium air pumps and aeration

How do I convert L/min to L/h?

Multiply by 60. Tetra's 0.5 L/min for the Whisper 10 is 30 L/h; Fluval's 90-110 L/h for the A101 is about 1.5-1.8 L/min. More in Air pump flow explained

Does a deeper tank reduce air pump output?

FishLab reports that tank depth affected both air output and noise in its own measurements, especially for pumps made for small tanks. More in Air pump flow explained

What does 'for tanks up to 40 gallons' mean on an air pump?

It is the maker's suggested tank size. Tetra, for example, offers Whisper pumps for 10 to 100 gallon tanks, but those labels are suggestions, not measured flow. More in Air pump flow explained

Can I compare flow numbers from two different makers?

Only roughly. Makers rarely state the depth or method behind a flow figure, so treat two makers' numbers as a starting point, not a ranking. More in Air pump flow explained

Is more airflow always better?

No. More flow means more bubbles and usually more noise; match the pump to what it drives, such as one air stone or a sponge filter, and use the outlet's flow control if it has one. More in Air pump flow explained

Which aquarium air pump is the quietest?

No source lets us rank pumps across publishers, because each measured noise differently. Compare figures only within one publisher's results, such as FishLab's. More in Air pump noise figures, explained

Why did my air pump suddenly get loud?

Tetra says a Whisper pump that gets very loud or stops making air may have a worn rubber diaphragm, a wear part not covered by its warranty. Do not open mains-powered equipment; contact the maker. More in Air pump noise figures, explained

Why is my dual-outlet pump so loud?

Tetra says a dual-port pump will be very loud unless airline is fitted to both ports; its pumps come with a T connector to join the two. More in Air pump noise figures, explained

How loud is too loud for an air pump?

FishLab reports that its testers found pumps over 45 dB annoying, measured its way, and that perceived loudness did not always match the meter. More in Air pump noise figures, explained

Is a maker's dB figure A-weighted?

None of the maker figures we read says so. Aquarium Co-Op and Fluval publish dB figures without a distance, weighting or method. More in Air pump noise figures, explained

How long will a battery-backup air pump run?

Only the maker's figure is available. Aquarium Co-Op states about 20 hours continuous and 40 hours in Power Save for units sold from August 1, 2024, and 8 and 16 hours for earlier units; no independent runtime measurement was found. More in Battery-backup air pumps

Does a battery-backup pump switch over by itself?

Aquarium Co-Op says its pump switches automatically to its built-in lithium-ion battery when power is lost. More in Battery-backup air pumps

What is Power Save mode?

On Aquarium Co-Op's pump, Power Save cycles the air 15 seconds on and 15 seconds off to stretch the battery, per the maker. More in Battery-backup air pumps

Can I run a battery air pump from a power bank?

Aquarium Co-Op says its pump's cord, over 11 feet long, ends in a USB connector that can also run from a USB power bank. More in Battery-backup air pumps

Does a battery-backup air pump keep fish safe in an outage?

No maker promises that, and we found no source that does. It keeps air moving for a limited time; the filter, heater and lights still stop. More in Battery-backup air pumps

Do air bubbles put oxygen directly into the water?

Mostly not. Aquarium Co-Op explains that bubbles help by creating water movement and surface agitation, and that surface agitation is key to gas exchange. More in Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

Do I need an air pump if my filter splashes the surface?

Not always. Tetra says its Whisper Power Filter adds oxygen by breaking the surface as it returns water, and that an air pump is not required with it. Check that your own filter actually moves the surface. More in Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

What uses up the oxygen in a fish tank?

In a 2020 study of 54-liter tanks, fish metabolism had the greatest effect on oxygen use and rose sharply with feeding dose; the bacteria that convert ammonia to nitrate used oxygen too, to a lesser extent. More in Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

Does feeding affect oxygen levels?

In that study, yes: fish oxygen use rose sharply with feeding dose, and the authors recommend several small portions a day rather than one large ration. More in Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

Is an air pump a backup if the power goes out?

Only a battery-backup pump keeps running without mains power. See the battery-backup guide for what makers state about runtime. More in Do air bubbles add oxygen to an aquarium?

Automatic feeders

Should I choose a drum feeder or a compartment feeder?

A drum feeder portions dry food from one container each time it turns; EHEIM's sets the portion with a slider on the drum. A compartment feeder such as Fish Mate's F14 drops one pre-filled meal at a time. Compare them in drum vs compartment feeders. More in Automatic fish feeders

Can I use rechargeable batteries in a battery feeder?

Follow the maker. EHEIM says its autofeeder runs on two AA alkaline batteries and must not be run on rechargeables, and the F14 manual recommends one AA alkaline battery. Aquarium Co-Op's Auto Feeder is different: it has a built-in rechargeable battery charged over USB-C. More in Automatic fish feeders

Why does food clump in my feeder?

Usually moisture. Fish Mate says condensation inside the F14 can clog food or stop it dispensing, and that spray from an air stone near the feeding hole can add to it. EHEIM says its feeder's air intake must not sit in the humid air of an open tank. More fixes in feeder not dispensing. More in Automatic fish feeders

Which automatic feeder is the most reliable?

We cannot say, and neither can anyone else on current evidence: we found no independent, standardized repeatability or failure-rate data for any consumer aquarium feeder. Treat any maker's reliability wording as marketing and test the feeder at home. More in Automatic fish feeders

Can I put a feeder on live or frozen food?

Check the manual for your model. EHEIM, for example, says its autofeeder is for dry food such as flakes and granulates and must not be used for live or frozen food. More in Automatic fish feeders

Why is the food in my automatic feeder clumping?

Moisture from the tank is the usual cause. Fish Mate says condensation inside the F14 can clog food, and that spray from an air stone near the feeding hole can add to it. Move the air stone away, reduce airflow or raise the feeder. More in Automatic feeder not dispensing or clumping

My EHEIM feeder shows LO. Will it still feed?

For a while. EHEIM says it keeps feeding after LO appears, but after about three days the display blinks and the unit shuts off. Replace the batteries within about a minute, or the settings are lost. More in Automatic feeder not dispensing or clumping

Can I use rechargeable batteries in my fish feeder?

Not in the EHEIM battery autofeeder: EHEIM says it must run on two AA alkaline cells, not rechargeables. Check your own manual; other models may differ. More in Automatic feeder not dispensing or clumping

Can I put my Fish Mate F14 on the condensation tray?

The F14 manual says condensation-tray mounting is not normally recommended unless an air pump is connected to the feeder's AIR port. Use a feeding hole in the hood or the supplied clamps instead. More in Automatic feeder not dispensing or clumping

Can I use frozen or live food in an automatic feeder?

Not in the EHEIM autofeeder, which EHEIM says is for dry food such as flakes and granulates only. Wet food spoils and clogs, so treat dry food as the rule unless your manual says otherwise. More in Automatic feeder not dispensing or clumping

Which automatic feeder holds the most food?

Of the maker figures we found, hygger lists its HG169 in 350 ml and 500 ml sizes, Aquarium Co-Op states about 200 ml and EHEIM about 100 ml for its standard autofeeder. More food is not more days: that depends on your portion and schedule. More in Automatic feeder specs compared

Is the EHEIM autofeeder+ sold for 120 V outlets?

We found no North American voltage, plug or certification information for it. The page we read is EHEIM's EU and UK page, which describes a power supply unit, so do not assume it suits a US or Canadian outlet. More in Automatic feeder specs compared

Which feeders run on batteries?

The EHEIM autofeeder runs on two AA alkaline cells, the JUWEL EasyFeed on AA alkaline cells and the Fish Mate F14 on one AA alkaline cell. Aquarium Co-Op's Auto Feeder has a built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery charged over USB-C. More in Automatic feeder specs compared

What guarantee do feeder makers give?

As stated by each maker: Aquarium Co-Op gives its Auto Feeder a 1-year warranty, JUWEL gives the EasyFeed 24 months under EU terms, EHEIM gives the autofeeder+ 3 years, and Closer Pets states a 3-year guarantee for the Fish Mate F14. Check whether a guarantee covers the store you buy from. More in Automatic feeder specs compared

Which feeder is the most reliable?

No one can say. We found no independent, standardized repeatability or failure-rate data for any consumer feeder, and no maker publishes any. Test any feeder at home before a trip. More in Automatic feeder specs compared

Which is more accurate, a drum or a compartment feeder?

No independent data compares them. A compartment feeder drops what you put in each compartment, while a drum feeder's portion depends on the opening setting and how the food flows, so a trial at home is the only way to see how consistent yours is. More in Drum vs compartment fish feeders

How many days will a 100 ml feeder last?

Capacity is not trip length. It depends on the portion, the number of feeds a day and the food. EHEIM states about 100 ml for its standard autofeeder, mainly for flake food; how many days that covers is something only your own trial can show. More in Drum vs compartment fish feeders

How many meals does the Fish Mate F14 hold?

Closer Pets, which now sells Fish Mate, says the F14 can feed one to four times a day for up to 14 individual meals. More in Drum vs compartment fish feeders

Can I use pellets in a drum feeder?

Check the maker's food guidance for your model. EHEIM says its autofeeder suits flakes and granulates and must not be used for live or frozen food; hygger lists its HG169 for dry food up to 3 mm in diameter. More in Drum vs compartment fish feeders

How long should I test an automatic feeder?

Fish Mate recommends supervising a new F14 for fourteen days while you are present before relying on it. We suggest the same two weeks for any feeder you have not used before. More in How to test an automatic fish feeder before a trip

My feeder worked for two weeks. Is it reliable now?

It has worked on your tank for two weeks, which is more than any published data offers. We found no independent failure-rate data for any consumer feeder, so still arrange for someone to check the tank while you are away. More in How to test an automatic fish feeder before a trip

Why did my Fish Mate F14 seem to drop only part of the meal?

The F14 manual says each meal is dispensed gradually over about two hours, so judge the meal after that time, not at the moment it starts. More in How to test an automatic fish feeder before a trip

How do I make the portion bigger on a drum feeder?

On the EHEIM autofeeder a slider on the drum changes the opening size, and EHEIM suggests the two-rotation setting for larger amounts. Check your own manual, then retest after any change. More in How to test an automatic fish feeder before a trip

Power and electrical safety

Do I need a GFCI for my aquarium?

Aquarium makers and safety bulletins recommend ground-fault protection. JUWEL says aquarium devices should run through a residual-current breaker of at most 30 mA, and an Ontario teachers' union bulletin says school aquarium appliances should be on a ground fault interrupter circuit. Local electrical code governs; ask a licensed electrician about your outlets. More in Aquarium power and electrical safety

What is a drip loop?

A dip in a power cord below the outlet, so water running down the cord drips off at the low point instead of reaching the plug. Aquarium Co-Op tells users to make one in the air pump's cable before plugging it in, and JUWEL says plugs must not get wet. More in Aquarium power and electrical safety

Is an FCC mark a safety certification?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference and RF exposure. Shock and fire safety comes from a listing by a testing lab such as UL, Intertek (ETL) or CSA. More in Aquarium power and electrical safety

How do I check that a UL logo on a listing is real?

Look up the exact model or file number in the certifier's own database; UL Solutions runs one called Product iQ. A logo in a listing photo is not proof. See how to verify a UL or ETL listing. More in Aquarium power and electrical safety

What should Canadian buyers look for?

Health Canada tells consumers not to buy plug-in electrical products without a Canadian certification mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL, and says the mark must be on the product itself, not just the packaging. More in Aquarium power and electrical safety

Can I use a 230 V air pump in the US with a plug adapter?

No. A plug adapter changes the plug shape, not the voltage. Health Canada warns that adapters that don't match a device's voltage and current can cause overheating or damage. More in 120 V vs 230 V aquarium equipment

What rating should North American aquarium gear show?

120 V at 60 Hz, or a range that includes it, on the device's own rating label. Fluval's North American A202, for example, is rated 120 V / 60 Hz, and Intermatic rates its TN311 timer at 125 VAC, 60 Hz. More in 120 V vs 230 V aquarium equipment

Does 50 Hz vs 60 Hz matter for an air pump?

Don't assume it will work. EHEIM's air100 page gives 50 Hz ratings only and Sicce rates its AIRLIGHT pumps at 230-240 V / 50 Hz; we found no maker statement that either runs on North American 60 Hz power. More in 120 V vs 230 V aquarium equipment

How do I tell which variant a listing sells?

Look for the maker's item number and voltage for that item. Fluval, for example, lists the A202 as item A853 at 3 W on 120 V / 60 Hz, and gives the 230-240 V wattage separately. More in 120 V vs 230 V aquarium equipment

Does a battery feeder need a 120 V rating?

No mains rating applies to a battery-only unit. EHEIM's battery autofeeder carries an EU conformity symbol, which says nothing about North American mains. More in 120 V vs 230 V aquarium equipment

What is a drip loop?

A low dip in a power cord below the outlet, so water running down the cord drips off at the bottom instead of reaching the plug. Aquarium Co-Op, JUWEL and Tetra all tell users to make one. More in Aquarium electrical safety basics

Do aquariums need a GFCI outlet?

Aquarium makers and safety bulletins recommend ground-fault protection: JUWEL says to use a 30 mA residual-current breaker, and an Ontario teachers' union bulletin says school aquariums should be on a GFI circuit. Your local electrical code governs; ask an electrician. More in Aquarium electrical safety basics

Should I unplug equipment before putting my hand in the tank?

JUWEL's manual says to unplug all devices operated in water before touching the water. It is a sensible habit for any tank. More in Aquarium electrical safety basics

What safety standard covers aquarium equipment?

UL 1018, Electric Aquarium Equipment, covers household and commercial electric equipment used on or in indoor aquariums at 300 volts or less, such as heaters, pumps, filters and aerators. More in Aquarium electrical safety basics

Can I fix a pump that stopped working?

Not by opening it if it runs on mains power. Contact the maker; Tetra, for example, treats a worn diaphragm as a known wear part. More in Aquarium electrical safety basics

How do I know an Amazon seller is genuine?

Check 'Ships from' and 'Sold by' on the offer. Amazon.com or the brand itself is the safest; some makers, such as hygger, publish a list of their authorized Amazon stores. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

Is there an official AliExpress store for aquarium brands?

We found none confirmed by the makers we checked, including EHEIM, Tetra, Aquarium Co-Op, NICREW, hygger and Fluval. Treat an 'Official Store' name on AliExpress as the store's own claim. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

Does a brand not listing Amazon mean Amazon units are fake?

No. Aqueon, Seachem and Fluval point buyers to retailers rather than Amazon, but that only means they don't list Amazon, not that Amazon offers are counterfeit. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

Will the warranty cover a marketplace purchase?

It depends on the maker. NICREW's 12-month warranty requires proof of purchase from an official or authorized channel, and it names Amazon as its only official online channel. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

How long do I have to return an item on Amazon?

Amazon.com says most items can be returned within 30 days of delivery in original or unused condition, with exceptions; third-party sellers' policies can differ. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

Can AliExpress items be returned?

Only items with AliExpress's Free Return label are covered by its Free Return terms, which allow 15 calendar days from receipt under conditions. The terms we read date from 2022, so check the current terms for your country. More in Buying aquarium gear online: a checklist

Where can I look up a UL listing?

UL Solutions provides Product iQ, a searchable database of UL certification information. Search by the exact model or file number. More in How to verify a UL or ETL listing

Is a UL logo in an Amazon or AliExpress listing proof?

No. A logo in listing photos or text can be copied. Look for the mark on the product itself and look the model up with the certifier. More in How to verify a UL or ETL listing

What if the brand says its products are UL and ETL certified?

A brand-level statement does not say which model holds which mark. hygger's company page, for example, lists several marks but does not tie any of them to a model. More in How to verify a UL or ETL listing

What is an NRTL?

A Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory, recognized by OSHA to certify products to safety standards. Intertek, which issues the ETL mark, states that it is one. More in How to verify a UL or ETL listing

What should I do if I can't confirm the listing?

Ask the maker for the certifier and file number for your exact model. If neither the unit nor the maker can show one, don't use it for mains equipment left running near water. More in How to verify a UL or ETL listing

Is ETL as good as UL?

Intertek says ETL-marked products meet the same safety requirements as other NRTL marks. Both show that a recognized lab certified the product to a safety standard; what matters is that the exact model is listed. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Is CSA certification valid in the US?

A cCSAus mark covers both countries. Intermatic lists cCSAus for its TN311 timer, which means CSA certification valid for the US and Canada. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Is the FCC logo a safety mark?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference and RF exposure; it is not an electrical shock or fire safety listing. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Does a CE mark mean a product is safe for US outlets?

No. CE marks conformity with EU rules; EHEIM's manual, for example, says its symbol means the feeder conforms to EU standards. It is not a North American certification. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Do Canadian provinces require a certification mark?

Health Canada advises buying plug-in products only with a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL, and British Columbia's regulation requires electrical equipment to carry an accredited certification mark or approved inspection label. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Is a UL logo on a listing enough?

No. Look for the mark on the product itself and look the model up with the certifier. More in UL vs ETL vs CSA marks on aquarium equipment

Maintenance tools

What should I check on my aquarium every day?

The Merck Veterinary Manual's maintenance table lists daily checks of the fish, the water temperature and the equipment, and removing uneaten food. More in Aquarium maintenance tools

How often should I clean the tank?

Merck lists a regular schedule of cleaning, water changes and filter replacement as part of preventive care, with a water change every two weeks whose size depends on stocking. The maintenance checklist sets it out by day, routine and period. More in Aquarium maintenance tools

When should I replace airline tubing?

When it hardens. Aquarium Co-Op says all airline eventually hardens when left in water for long periods and suggests cutting off 0.5-1 inch of hardened tubing before reattaching; replace runs that stay stiff or crack. More in Aquarium maintenance tools

My air pump makes less air than it used to. Is it worn out?

Possibly. Tetra says a Whisper pump that stops producing air or gets very loud may have a worn rubber diaphragm, a wear part not covered by its warranty. Do not open a mains-powered pump; follow the maker's service advice. More in Aquarium maintenance tools

What should I check on my aquarium every day?

Merck's maintenance table lists daily checks of the fish, the water temperature and the equipment, and removing uneaten food. It takes a minute and is the step automation cannot do for you. More in Aquarium maintenance checklist

How often should I change aquarium water?

Merck's general schedule is a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on how heavily the tank is stocked. Python recommends 5 to 10% every other week for its users, which is a maker recommendation. More in Aquarium maintenance checklist

Why has my airline tubing gone hard?

Aquarium Co-Op says all airline tubing eventually hardens when left in water for long periods. It suggests cutting off 0.5 to 1 inch of the hardened end before reattaching it. More in Aquarium maintenance checklist

My air pump got louder and weaker. Is it broken?

It may be worn. Tetra says a Whisper pump that stops producing air or gets very loud may have a worn rubber diaphragm, a wear part not covered by its warranty. Contact the maker rather than opening a mains-powered pump yourself. More in Aquarium maintenance checklist

My tank is between two sizes. Which page should I use?

Use the larger size for aeration and water-change tools, and the type page (rimless, hooded, planted) for feeder mounting. Maker tank-size figures are suggestions, not measured limits. More in Tank setup finder

Where do the tank sizes on each page come from?

From the makers. Tetra offers its Whisper pumps for aquariums from 10 to 100 gallons, Fluval lists its A202 for tanks up to 80 US gal, and Aqueon lists its mini siphon vacuum for 1-5 gallon tanks. These are the makers' suggested sizes, which we show as stated. More in Tank setup finder

Does the finder tell me how much to feed?

No. The Merck Veterinary Manual says feeding rates vary with species, age, system and water temperature, so no page here gives feeding amounts or a safe time without food. More in Tank setup finder

Why do some fields say "Not confirmed"?

Because we could not find a maker, standards-body or published source for that field and that tank. We show the gap rather than guess. More in Tank setup finder

Timers and smart plugs

Mechanical timer or smart plug for aquarium lights?

Both can switch lights. A mechanical timer such as Intermatic's TN311 is a 24-hour timer set with trippers; a smart plug such as Kasa's EP25P4 is scheduled over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. TP-Link does not state whether the EP25P4 restores its state after an outage. Compare them in mechanical timer vs smart plug. More in Aquarium timers and smart plugs

Is a 15 A smart plug fine for any aquarium equipment?

Not automatically. TP-Link rates the EP25P4 at 15 A but only 1/6 HP for motors, and Intermatic rates the TN311 at 1/3 HP for motors. Check the rating that matches your load in timer load ratings explained. More in Aquarium timers and smart plugs

Is the Intermatic TN311 UL listed?

Intermatic lists a cCSAus certification for the TN311, which is CSA certification valid for the US and Canada. It does not show a UL listing, so describe it as CSA certified. More in Aquarium timers and smart plugs

Does an FCC mark mean a smart plug is electrically safe?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference and RF exposure. Shock and fire safety is a separate listing from a testing lab, which for the EP25P4 TP-Link states as UL. More in Aquarium timers and smart plugs

Can a 15 amp smart plug run an aquarium pump?

Check the motor rating, not the 15 A headline. TP-Link lists the Kasa EP25P4 at 15 A maximum but rates it for a 1/6 HP motor, which is far lower. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

What is a resistive load?

A load like a heating element that draws steady current with no startup surge. Timers often state their highest rating for resistive loads, so it is not the figure to use for motors. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

What does a ballast rating mean on a timer?

It is the rating for lights that use a ballast, such as older fluorescent fixtures. Intermatic rates the TN311 at 15 A for magnetic ballast; BN-LINK rates the U47 at 5 A for ballast. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Does a timer without a motor rating work for pumps?

We would not assume so. BN-LINK's U47 page states resistive, tungsten and ballast ratings but no motor rating, so its suitability for pumps is not stated. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Should I put a filter on a timer?

Generally no: timers suit lights and other noncritical loads. A filter or air pump switched off by mistake is a welfare problem, not an inconvenience. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Will a smart plug keep my light schedule if the Wi-Fi goes down?

For the Kasa EP25P4, we could not find out. TP-Link does not state whether its schedules run without the cloud or what the plug does after a power outage. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Does a mechanical timer keep time after a power cut?

A plain dial timer with no battery reserve stops turning while the power is off, so its schedule shifts by the length of the outage. Check and reset it after any outage. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Is FCC on a smart plug a safety mark?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference; it is not an electrical shock or fire safety listing. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

How short an on/off period can a mechanical timer do?

It depends on the timer. Intermatic lists a 30-minute minimum on/off time for the TN311, with up to 48 events a day. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Can I use a smart plug next to the tank?

Keep it away from splashes. TP-Link rates the EP25P4 for 5-90% relative humidity, non-condensing, which does not suit a wet spot. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Tubing and check valves

Which way does an aquarium check valve go?

It depends on the valve. Danner and Tetra mark the flow direction; Tetra says the CV4's arrow points in the direction of air flow. Aquarium Co-Op says to fit its valve with the flapper end facing the pump, and that installed backwards no air flows. Details in which way a check valve goes. More in Airline tubing and check valves

Is 3/16 inch airline the same as 4 mm?

No. 3/16 in is about 4.76 mm, and Fluval lists its A Series hose as 3/16 in / 4.78 mm, while Tetra's CV4 valve and EHEIM's air100 use 4 mm hose. Match the tubing to the pump outlet and valves you have. More in Airline tubing and check valves

Do I need a check valve if my pump sits above the tank?

Aquarium Co-Op says to run its pump above the water level and to use a check valve if it sits below. Tetra advises a drip loop and an in-line check valve, or placing the pump higher than the tank if that is not possible. More in Airline tubing and check valves

Can I use an air check valve on a CO2 line?

Not Aquarium Co-Op's: it says its standard check valves are for air pumps only and not designed for CO2 systems, and it sells a separate CO2 valve. Check your valve maker's statement. More in Airline tubing and check valves

Why has my airline tubing gone stiff?

Aquarium Co-Op says all airline tubing eventually hardens when left in water for long periods, and suggests cutting off 0.5-1 inch of hardened tubing before reattaching it. More in Airline tubing and check valves

Is 3/16 inch airline the same as 4 mm?

No. 3/16 in is about 4.76 mm, and Fluval lists its A Series hose at 3/16 in / 4.78 mm, while Tetra's CV4 valve and EHEIM's air100 use 4 mm hose. More in 3/16 in vs 4 mm airline tubing

Why does airline tubing get hard?

Aquarium Co-Op says all airline tubing eventually hardens when left in water for long periods, and suggests cutting off 0.5-1 inch of hardened tubing before reattaching it. More in 3/16 in vs 4 mm airline tubing

Is 'food grade' airline safer for fish?

'Food grade' is the maker's term; we found no source that tests airline for fish safety. Aquarium Co-Op's food-grade airline also carries a California Prop 65 warning for DEHP. More in 3/16 in vs 4 mm airline tubing

What is DEHP?

EPA describes DEHP as a phthalate most commonly used as a plasticizer. It released its final TSCA risk evaluation for DEHP in December 2025; that evaluation does not address any specific aquarium tube. More in 3/16 in vs 4 mm airline tubing

Is 3/16 inch the inside or the outside diameter?

Danner states 3/16 in inside diameter for the airline its valves fit. Not every listing says which, so check the pump outlet and valve barb before you buy. More in 3/16 in vs 4 mm airline tubing

Can an air pump sit below the aquarium?

Yes, with a check valve. Aquarium Co-Op says its pump should run above the water level, and that a check valve must be used if it sits below; Tetra gives similar advice for Whisper pumps. More in Air pump above or below the tank?

What is back-siphoning?

Water running back down the airline into the pump, usually when the pump stops in a power outage. Danner says its check valves stop that. More in Air pump above or below the tank?

Where should the check valve go on the airline?

Outside the water, and Aquarium Co-Op recommends near the top of the tank so water is stopped at the rim rather than down near the pump. More in Air pump above or below the tank?

Do I still need a check valve if the pump is above the tank?

Tetra suggests placing the pump higher than the aquarium if you cannot use a drip loop and check valve. A check valve also protects the pump if it is ever moved lower. More in Air pump above or below the tank?

Can I put an air pump inside the cabinet?

Only with a check valve and a drip loop in the cord, and never where it can get wet. Aquarium Co-Op says the unit must never be submerged. More in Air pump above or below the tank?

What happens if I install a check valve backwards?

No air gets through. Aquarium Co-Op says that if its valve is installed backwards, no air flows, which is the quickest sign you need to flip it. More in Which way does a check valve go?

Does the arrow on a check valve point to the tank or the pump?

Toward the tank. Tetra says the arrow on its CV4 points in the direction of air flow, which runs from the pump to the tank. More in Which way does a check valve go?

Can I use a regular check valve on a CO2 line?

Not Aquarium Co-Op's: it says its standard check valves are for air pumps only and not designed for CO2 systems. Use a valve its maker rates for CO2. More in Which way does a check valve go?

Where on the airline should the check valve go?

Outside the water, and preferably near the top of the tank. Danner says outside the water; Aquarium Co-Op recommends near the top so water stops at the rim. More in Which way does a check valve go?

Vacation setups

How many days can aquarium fish go without food?

We found no veterinary, university or maker source that gives a safe number. The Merck Veterinary Manual says nutritional needs are known for only a handful of fish species, and feeding rates vary with species, age, system and water temperature. See why there is no safe number. More in Aquarium vacation setups

Is an automatic feeder enough for a week away?

No published data shows how reliably any consumer feeder works, so a feeder is not a substitute for someone checking the tank. Fish Mate itself recommends supervising a new F14 for fourteen days while you are home before relying on it. More in Aquarium vacation setups

What happens to aeration if the power goes out while I'm away?

A mains air pump stops with the power. Aquarium Co-Op says its battery-backup pump switches to its built-in battery automatically and states about 20 hours of continuous running, or 40 hours in Power Save mode; those are the maker's figures, not an independent measurement. More in Aquarium vacation setups

Can a smart plug run my aquarium lights while I'm away?

It can switch lights on a schedule, but TP-Link does not state whether its Kasa EP25P4 restores its state after an outage or runs schedules without the cloud. It is also rated for non-condensing conditions, so keep it away from splashes and use it for lights, not life-support equipment. More in Aquarium vacation setups

What happens to my fish tank in a power outage?

Everything on mains power stops, including the filter and any air pump, so the water surface stops moving. A 2020 lab study found that oxygen uptake from the air depends strongly on water flow and open surface area. More in Power outage while you're away

How long does a battery-backup air pump run?

Only the maker's figures exist. Aquarium Co-Op states about 20 hours continuous or 40 hours in Power Save for current units, and 8 and 16 hours for units sold before August 1, 2024. No independent runtime measurement was found. More in Power outage while you're away

Why do I need a check valve for a power cut?

When a pump stops, water can siphon back down the airline into it. Danner says its check valves, installed in the airline outside the water, stop that from happening in a power outage. More in Power outage while you're away

Can a battery-backup pump run from a power bank?

Aquarium Co-Op says its pump has a power cord over 11 feet long with a USB connector that can also run from a USB power bank. That is the maker's statement for its own pump. More in Power outage while you're away

How far ahead should I start preparing the tank?

Start with the feeder, because it needs the longest trial. Fish Mate recommends supervising a new F14 for fourteen days while you are home before relying on it, so a new feeder means starting about two weeks out. More in Aquarium vacation checklist

Should I do a big water change right before I leave?

Keep to your normal routine rather than making a large change at the last minute. Merck's general schedule is a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on how heavily the tank is stocked, and new water should be dechlorinated. More in Aquarium vacation checklist

Can I use rechargeable batteries in my feeder?

Check the manual for your model. EHEIM says its battery autofeeder must not be run on rechargeable batteries; it takes two AA alkaline cells. Other feeders, such as Aquarium Co-Op's, have a built-in rechargeable battery instead. More in Aquarium vacation checklist

What should my fish sitter check each visit?

The same daily checks Merck lists: the fish, the water temperature and the equipment, plus removing uneaten food. Leave pre-portioned food so they cannot overfeed. More in Aquarium vacation checklist

Is an ammonia badge worth leaving in the tank?

It gives a sitter something to read. Seachem says its Ammonia Alert continuously detects free ammonia and responds to rising levels in about 15 minutes, but it is not recommended in acidic water. More in Aquarium vacation checklist

Is an automatic feeder more reliable than a person?

No one has measured it. We found no independent, standardized failure-rate data for any consumer aquarium feeder, and no study comparing feeders with sitters. Each fails in different ways. More in Automatic feeder or fish sitter?

Why do sitters overfeed?

Fish often look hungry, and a sitter has no sense of what a normal portion is. Merck says overfeeding can lead to health problems as well as a dirty tank, so pre-portion every feeding. More in Automatic feeder or fish sitter?

Can I use a feeder and a sitter together?

Yes, and for longer trips that is the plan we suggest. The feeder handles meals; the person checks the fish, water temperature and equipment that Merck lists as daily checks, and does not feed unless the feeder has failed. More in Automatic feeder or fish sitter?

How long should I test a feeder before trusting it?

Fish Mate recommends supervising a new F14 for fourteen days while you are home. That is the maker's advice for its own model and a sensible minimum for any feeder you have not used before. More in Automatic feeder or fish sitter?

Can aquarium fish go a week without food?

We cannot give you a yes or no. No veterinary, university or maker source we found states a safe number of days for aquarium fish, and Merck says feeding needs vary with species, age, system and water temperature. More in How long can fish go without food?

Didn't a study show fish are fine after a few days without food?

The study often pointed to, on adult zebrafish, measured changes in digestive gene expression after 1, 2 and 5 days without food. It did not measure survival or welfare, so it does not set a safe fasting period. More in How long can fish go without food?

Are baby fish different?

Treat them as a separate question. A 2021 study looked at short-term fasting in larvae and juveniles of one ornamental species, but we could read only its title, so we do not report its findings. Ask a vet or an experienced breeder before leaving fry unfed. More in How long can fish go without food?

Who can tell me what is safe for my fish?

A vet who treats fish is the right person for a specific tank. Merck says nutritional requirements are known for only a handful of species and that what suits one fish may not suit an unrelated one. More in How long can fish go without food?

How many days can I leave my fish without food?

We found no veterinary, university or maker source that gives a safe number of days. The Merck Veterinary Manual says nutritional needs are known for only a handful of fish species, so ask a vet who treats fish about your own tank. More in How to feed aquarium fish while you're away

Is an automatic feeder safe to leave for a week?

No source can say. We found no independent failure-rate data for any consumer feeder. Fish Mate itself recommends supervising a new F14 for 14 days while you are home before relying on it. More in How to feed aquarium fish while you're away

Should I feed extra before I leave?

Merck says overfeeding can lead to health problems as well as a dirty tank. A 2020 study of 54-liter tanks found that feeding dose drove oxygen use sharply, so a large farewell meal is not a safe buffer. More in How to feed aquarium fish while you're away

Do feeders with overfeeding protection solve the problem?

They add a setting, not a guarantee. EHEIM lists switchable overfeeding protection and low-food email alerts for its autofeeder+, but that is a maker feature list, and the autofeeder+ page we read is for the EU and UK. More in How to feed aquarium fish while you're away

Will the planner tell me how many days my fish can go without food?

No. We found no veterinary, university or maker source that gives a safe number, and the Merck Veterinary Manual says feeding needs vary with species, age, system and water temperature. Each plan says what to set up and who should check, not how long fish can go unfed. More in Time-away planner

Does a plan mean my setup covers the whole trip?

No. No published data shows how reliably any consumer feeder works, and no device replaces someone checking the tank. Fish Mate itself recommends supervising a new F14 for fourteen days while you are home before relying on it. More in Time-away planner

What if the power goes out while I'm away?

Open the outage plan. A mains air pump stops with the power; Aquarium Co-Op says its battery-backup pump switches to its built-in battery automatically, for as long as its maker-stated runtime. More in Time-away planner

What should a fish sitter check?

Merck's maintenance table lists daily checks of the fish, the water temperature and the equipment, and removing uneaten food. Each plan turns that into a short list for your sitter. More in Time-away planner

Water changes and testing

How often should I change aquarium water, and how much?

The Merck Veterinary Manual's maintenance table lists a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on how heavily the tank is stocked. Python recommends 5 to 10% every other week for its users; that is a maker recommendation, not a universal rule. More in Water changes and testing

Will a Python water changer fit my faucet?

Often, but not always. Python says its units come with a 69HD brass adapter for female- or male-threaded faucets once the aerator is removed, and that some faucets need a separate MABA or FEBA adapter. See the faucet water changer guide. More in Water changes and testing

Do I need water conditioner when refilling from the tap?

Yes. Merck says new water should be dechlorinated, and Python recommends adding a water conditioner during refill with its No Spill Clean and Fill. More in Water changes and testing

Why does my ammonia monitor disagree with my test kit?

They may measure different things. Seachem's Ammonia Alert reads free (un-ionized) ammonia only, and Seachem notes that 0.02 mg/L free ammonia equals 3.6 mg/L total ammonia in freshwater at pH 7.0, so a free-ammonia reading and a total-ammonia reading cannot be compared directly. See free vs total ammonia. More in Water changes and testing

What does the API Freshwater Master Test Kit test?

API says it measures pH, high range pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate, using seven test solutions. More in Water changes and testing

Will a Python fit my kitchen faucet?

Python says its units come with a 69HD brass adapter for female- or male-threaded faucets after you remove the aerator, and that some faucets need a MABA or FEBA adapter. More in Python vs Aqueon water changer

Which is longer, Python or Aqueon?

Both are compared here at 25 ft. Aqueon sells its changer in 25 ft and 50 ft sizes; measure the hose route from faucet to tank, not the straight-line distance. More in Python vs Aqueon water changer

Do I need water conditioner when refilling with a water changer?

Python recommends adding a water conditioner during refill, and Merck says new water should be dechlorinated. More in Python vs Aqueon water changer

How much water should I change?

Python recommends 5 to 10% every other week for its users; Merck's general schedule is a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on stocking level. More in Python vs Aqueon water changer

Which one drains faster?

Neither maker publishes a flow rate, and we do not test products, so we can't say. More in Python vs Aqueon water changer

Will a Python water changer fit my faucet?

Often, but not always. Python says its units come with a 69HD brass adapter for male- or female-threaded faucets once the aerator is removed, and that some faucets need a MABA or FEBA adapter. More in Faucet water changers

Do I still need water conditioner with a faucet water changer?

Yes. Python recommends adding a water conditioner during refill, and the Merck Veterinary Manual says new water should be dechlorinated. More in Faucet water changers

What length of water changer do I need?

Measure the path the hose will take from the faucet to the tank, around corners and doorways, and add some slack. Aqueon sells 25-foot and 50-foot sizes. More in Faucet water changers

How much water should I change?

Python recommends 5 to 10% every other week for its users. That is a maker recommendation; Merck says the amount depends on how heavily the tank is stocked. More in Faucet water changers

Why does my test kit show ammonia when my Seachem badge shows safe?

They may be measuring different things. Seachem says Ammonia Alert detects free ammonia, and gives the example that 0.02 mg/L free ammonia equals 3.6 mg/L total ammonia in freshwater at pH 7.0. A total-ammonia reading is a much bigger number for the same water. More in Free vs total ammonia

Which is more dangerous, free or total ammonia?

Free (un-ionized) ammonia is the form Seachem's thresholds are built on, with ALERT at about 0.05 mg/L, ALARM at about 0.2 mg/L and TOXIC at about 0.5 mg/L. Any rising ammonia reading in a tank is worth acting on. More in Free vs total ammonia

Does a continuous ammonia monitor replace a test kit?

No. Seachem's Ammonia Alert reads free ammonia only, and Seachem does not recommend it in acidic water. A kit such as API's Freshwater Master Test Kit also measures pH, nitrite and nitrate. More in Free vs total ammonia

How fast does Seachem Ammonia Alert react?

Seachem says it responds in about 15 minutes to rising ammonia and about 4 hours to falling ammonia, and that it lasts over a year. More in Free vs total ammonia

Why won't my gravel vacuum start siphoning?

Usually the bucket end is not low enough, there is air in the hose, or the tube is not deep enough in the water. Keep the bucket well below the tank, fill the tube completely and try again. More in How to prime a gravel vacuum

How do you start a siphon without sucking on the hose?

Aqueon says its siphon vacuums are primed by moving the intake tube up and down in the tank. You can also submerge the whole vacuum to fill it with water, block the hose end, and lower it into the bucket. More in How to prime a gravel vacuum

What size gravel vacuum do I need?

Match it to the tank. Aqueon sells sizes from a mini 5-inch tube to a large 16-inch tube, and lists the mini, with its 6 ft hose, for 1-5 gallon aquariums. More in How to prime a gravel vacuum

How often should I vacuum the gravel?

Merck's general schedule is a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on stocking, and it describes using a water and vacuum system to remove waste from the gravel during water changes. More in How to prime a gravel vacuum

Do I need a test kit if I do regular water changes?

Merck lists monitoring water quality alongside regular water changes as part of preventive fish care, so the two work together. More in Water-change tools and test kits

Why does my Ammonia Alert disagree with my test kit?

Ammonia Alert reads free (un-ionized) ammonia, which is only part of the total. Seachem notes that 0.02 mg/L free ammonia equals 3.6 mg/L total ammonia in freshwater at pH 7.0, so the two kinds of reading can't be compared directly. More in Water-change tools and test kits

Which gravel vacuum size do I need?

Aqueon makes sizes from a mini 5-inch to a large 16-inch tube, and lists the mini for 1-5 gallon aquariums. Bigger tanks need a bigger size. More in Water-change tools and test kits

How often should I change water?

Merck's general schedule is a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on stocking level; Python suggests 5 to 10% every other week for its users. More in Water-change tools and test kits

Tank setups

Does a nano or betta tank need an air pump?

Not always. Aquarium Co-Op says air bubbles help by moving water and agitating the surface, and that good surface agitation is key to gas exchange. Tetra says a filter that breaks the surface as it returns water also adds oxygen. Tetra says an air pump is not required with its Whisper Power Filter for that reason. A 2020 study of 54-liter tanks found oxygen uptake depended strongly on water flow and open surface. More in Nano tank (up to about 10 gallons; betta tanks)

What size gravel vacuum fits a 5-gallon tank?

Aqueon lists its mini siphon vacuum, with a 5 in tube and a 6 ft hose, for 1-5 gallon aquariums. Its sizes run up to a large 16 in tube for bigger tanks. More in Nano tank (up to about 10 gallons; betta tanks)

How much air flow does a 20-gallon tank need?

No source we read sets a flow figure per gallon. Tetra lists 1 L/min for the Whisper 20 and offers the line for 10 to 100 gallons; Aquarium Co-Op lists 1.1 L/min for its single-outlet pump. Both are maker figures with no stated test depth. More in 10-20 gallon tank

How often should I change water in a 10-20 gallon tank?

Merck lists a water change every two weeks, with the amount depending on stocking level. Python recommends 5 to 10% every other week for its users. Test kits show whether your own tank needs more. More in 10-20 gallon tank

Will a faucet water changer fit my faucet?

Often, but not always. Python supplies a 69HD brass adapter for female- or male-threaded faucets after you remove the aerator, and says some faucets need a MABA or FEBA adapter. Aqueon includes a multi-connection adapter and publishes a diagram of compatible faucet types. More in 20-40 gallon tank

What does "T-ed" mean on an air pump spec?

Tetra marks the Whisper 60 and 100 flow figures (2.6 and 3.3 L/min) as "T-ed": the two outlets were joined with a T connector, so the figure is the combined output, not each outlet's. More in 40 gallons and up

Can I put an automatic feeder on a rimless tank?

Yes, if the clamp fits. Aquarium Co-Op's clamp takes rims up to 0.9 in (24 mm) and comes with an adhesive pad; the Fish Mate F14 uses two supplied clamps on tanks without a hood. Keep the feeder clear of splashes: EHEIM says its drive unit must not sit in the humid air of an open aquarium. More in Rimless or open-top tank

Why does food clump in a feeder on an open tank?

Moisture. Fish Mate says condensation can cause clogging or failure to dispense, and that air-pump spray near the feeding point can contribute. Its suggested fixes include pellet food, moving the air stone, reducing airflow, raising the feeder 25-50 mm or connecting an air pump to its AIR port. More in Rimless or open-top tank

Can I mount the Fish Mate F14 on the condensation tray?

The F14 manual says condensation-tray mounting is not normally recommended unless an air pump is connected to the feeder's AIR port, even though Closer Pets' product page lists the tray as an option. Use the hood's feeding hole or the supplied clamps instead. More in Hooded or lidded tank

What size hole does a hood feeder need?

For the Fish Mate F14, the manual says to cut a 30 mm (1-1/4 in) hole if the hood has no feeding hole. Other feeders state their own sizes. More in Hooded or lidded tank

Can I use a regular air check valve on a CO2 line?

Aquarium Co-Op says its standard check valves are for air pumps only and not designed for CO2 systems; it sells a separate stainless-steel CO2 check valve. More in Planted tank

Will a smart plug keep my light schedule after a power cut?

We cannot say for the Kasa EP25P4: TP-Link does not state whether it restores its state or runs schedules without the cloud. A mechanical timer such as the Intermatic TN311 has no cloud link, but check the time after any outage. More in Planted tank

Can an automatic feeder feed fry while I am away?

No maker or veterinary source we read says so. Merck says feeding rates vary with species, age, system and temperature and that needs are known for only a handful of species. Ask someone to check and feed the tank, or ask a fish vet. More in Fry and grow-out tank

Can one air pump run two tanks?

A two-outlet pump can feed two lines. Fluval gives each A Series outlet its own dial, so you can set the tanks separately. Tetra says to fit airline to both ports or the pump gets very loud. Each line below water level needs its own check valve. More in Several tanks on one pump

Time away

Can my fish go a weekend without food?

We cannot give a number. No veterinary, university or maker source we read states a safe time without food, and Merck says needs are known for only a handful of species. Ask a fish vet about your species, or arrange for someone to check the tank. More in A weekend away

Will an automatic feeder cover a week away?

No source can promise that. We found no independent reliability data for any consumer feeder. Fish Mate's own advice is to supervise a new F14 for 14 days while you are home, so start testing well before the trip and ask someone to check in. More in Up to a week away

Does "up to 14 meals" mean the F14 covers two weeks?

No. Closer Pets says the F14 can feed 1 to 4 times a day for up to 14 individual meals, so 14 meals lasts 14 days only at one meal a day. Fish Mate also advises supervising a new F14 for 14 days while you are home before relying on it. More in One to two weeks away

What can a sitter check without testing water?

Merck's daily checklist covers fish, water temperature, equipment and removing uneaten food. A continuous monitor such as Seachem's Ammonia Alert changes color with free ammonia, and Seachem gives its ALERT, ALARM and TOXIC thresholds. More in One to two weeks away

Can I skip a water change while I am away for three weeks?

Merck's maintenance table lists a water change every two weeks, with the amount set by stocking level, so a trip this long crosses one. Ask your sitter to do it, or plan one just before you leave and after you return. More in Longer than two weeks

How long does a battery-backup air pump run?

Aquarium Co-Op states about 20 hours continuous and 40 hours in Power Save mode for units sold from 8/1/2024, and 8 and 16 hours for earlier units. These are maker figures, not independent measurements. More in Away where outages are likely

Will my smart plug turn the light back on after an outage?

For the Kasa EP25P4 we cannot say: TP-Link does not state whether it restores its previous state or runs schedules without the cloud. Ask your sitter to check after any outage. More in Away where outages are likely