Guide · Timers and smart plugs

Mechanical timer or smart plug?

A dial timer and a Wi-Fi smart plug both switch aquarium lights. How they differ on ratings, marks, outages and setup, and what neither maker tells you.

A densely planted freshwater aquarium glowing green in a dark room
Photo: Arthur Colas / Unsplash

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money · How we research

Short answer

Both switch aquarium lights on a schedule. A mechanical timer is simple and needs no network, but drifts after a power cut. A smart plug gives app schedules and remote control, but its makers often don't say what happens after an outage or without the internet. Whichever you choose, check its load ratings and safety mark, and use it for lights rather than filters or air pumps.

How they compare

Using one documented example of each:

Intermatic TN311 (mechanical)Kasa EP25P4 (smart plug)
How you set itTrippers on a 24-hour dialApp, over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi[1]
Shortest on/off30 minutes; up to 48 events[2]Not limited by a dial
Motor rating1/3 HP[2]1/6 HP[1]
Safety certification the maker statescCSAus (CSA, for the US and Canada)[2]UL, no file number given; also FCC[1]
PlugNEMA 5-15 grounded plug and receptacle[2]Not named in TP-Link's text
After a power outageDial stops while power is offNot stated by TP-Link
Without internetNot affectedNot stated by TP-Link
EnvironmentIndoor[2]0-40 C (32-104 F), 5-90% RH, non-condensing[1]

The TN311 is shown as a documented example of a mechanical timer; it is not a pick.

The gaps that matter for a tank

Outages. A plain dial timer with no battery reserve stops while the power is off, so the schedule shifts by the length of the outage until you reset it. For the smart plug, TP-Link's pages do not say whether the EP25P4 restores its last state after an outage, or whether its schedules run if the internet or the cloud is down. We treat both as unknown. If you are away, plan as if lights might stay off, or on, until someone checks.

FCC is not a safety mark. TP-Link lists FCC and UL for the EP25P4.[1] FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference and RF exposure;[3] it is not an electrical shock or fire listing. The UL listing is the safety part. The certification marks guide explains each one.

Moisture. The EP25P4's non-condensing rating rules out spots where lid condensation or splashes can reach it.[1] Keep any timer or smart plug away from the tank, with a drip loop in every cord that runs to it.

Which suits you

  • A mechanical timer if you want the same light schedule every day, no app and nothing that depends on Wi-Fi. Reset it after any outage.
  • A smart plug if you want to change schedules from your phone or check the light while away, and accept that its outage behavior is not documented.

For either, check the load rating against your light; the load ratings guide explains which row to read.

A smart plug with published ratings

The Kasa EP25P4 is the smart plug in our catalog: TP-Link publishes its voltage, its 15 A and 1/6 HP ratings, its non-condensing environment rating and a UL certification.[1] Its outage behavior is the open question above.

Next

Questions

Will a smart plug keep my light schedule if the Wi-Fi goes down?

For the Kasa EP25P4, we could not find out. TP-Link does not state whether its schedules run without the cloud or what the plug does after a power outage.

Does a mechanical timer keep time after a power cut?

A plain dial timer with no battery reserve stops turning while the power is off, so its schedule shifts by the length of the outage. Check and reset it after any outage.

Is FCC on a smart plug a safety mark?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference; it is not an electrical shock or fire safety listing.[3]

How short an on/off period can a mechanical timer do?

It depends on the timer. Intermatic lists a 30-minute minimum on/off time for the TN311, with up to 48 events a day.[2]

Can I use a smart plug next to the tank?

Keep it away from splashes. TP-Link rates the EP25P4 for 5-90% relative humidity, non-condensing, which does not suit a wet spot.[1]

Sources and changes

  1. Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring EP25P4 - Specifications (TP-Link) · Manufacturer · TP-Link US EP25P4 page incl. specifications: input, maximum load incl. motor rating, Wi-Fi band, certification, operating environment, materials. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. TN311 Indoor Mechanical Plug-In Timer (Intermatic) · Manufacturer · Intermatic TN311 product page (read in a browser; specifications tab): input, load ratings by type, minimum on/off, events, plug, certification, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Equipment Authorization (U.S. Federal Communications Commission) · Standard · FCC OET equipment authorization overview (read in a browser): RF devices authorized under 47 CFR part 2 before marketing/importation; Certification and SDoC procedures; purpose. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.