Buying task · Timers and smart plugs

Aquarium timers and smart plugs

Mechanical timer or smart plug for aquarium lights: the load rating that applies, the certification the maker states, splash limits and what happens after an outage.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money · How we research

Short answer

For aquarium lights, a mechanical plug-in timer and a smart plug both work. Choose by three things on the exact model: the load rating that matches what you plug in (a motor rating is far lower than the headline amps), the certification the maker actually states, and whether it can sit somewhere dry. TP-Link does not say how its Kasa EP25P4 behaves after a power outage, so keep smart plugs for lights and other noncritical loads.

What a timer does on an aquarium

A timer switches a socket on and off at set times. On a tank it usually runs the lights, so they keep a steady day length while you are at work or away. Two kinds are common:

Mechanical plug-in timerSmart plug
How you set itTrippers: up to 24 on and 24 off events a day[1]An app, over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi[2]
ExampleIntermatic TN311Kasa EP25P4
Smallest step30 minutes on the TN311[1]Set in the app
After a power outageNot covered in the Intermatic specifications we readNot stated by TP-Link for the EP25P4

After any outage, check that the lights come on at the right time, whichever kind you use.

The decisions, in order

1. The load rating that applies. A timer can carry several ratings, one per kind of load. Intermatic rates the TN311 at 125 VAC, 60 Hz, with 15 A resistive, 15 A magnetic-ballast, 1875 W tungsten and 1/3 HP motor ratings.[1] TP-Link rates the EP25P4 at 15 A (1.8 kW at 120 V) but only 1/6 HP for motors.[2] BN-LINK rates its U47 at 15 A resistive, 8 A tungsten and 5 A ballast, and states no motor rating at all.[3] Pumps and filters are motor loads. The load ratings guide explains each kind.

2. The certification the maker states. Intermatic lists cCSAus certification for the TN311, CSA certification valid for the US and Canada, and no UL listing.[1] TP-Link lists FCC and UL for the EP25P4.[2] FCC authorization is about radio interference and RF exposure, not shock or fire safety.[4] BN-LINK's U47 page states no safety mark.[3]

3. Where it will sit. TP-Link rates the EP25P4 for 0-40°C (32-104°F) at 5-90% relative humidity, non-condensing.[2] The TN311 is an indoor timer.[1] Neither belongs in a splash zone under the tank.

4. Outages and the cloud. TP-Link's pages do not state whether the EP25P4 returns to its previous state after the power comes back, or whether its schedules run without an internet connection. Treat both as unknown. That is why we suggest smart plugs for lights, not for pumps or filters your fish depend on.

5. Plug and outlet. Intermatic lists a NEMA 5-15 grounded plug and receptacle on the TN311.[1] Use a grounded outlet for grounded plugs.

Every page on timers

Guides

Tank and trip pages

Comparison and shortlist. Not yet. Our Intermatic TN311 vs Kasa EP25 comparison and a timer shortlist need two timers that meet our catalog bar. The TN311 is on hold because the Amazon seller we saw cannot be tied to Intermatic, and the BN-LINK U47 because BN-LINK states no safety mark for it.

How to choose

For lights on a tank where you would like app control, a smart plug with a stated UL listing and a 120 V rating fits. Keep it on a dry shelf, and check the light's power draw against the plug's rating.

If you prefer no app and no Wi-Fi, look for a mechanical timer with a stated motor rating, a grounded plug and a certification mark the maker states for that exact model, as Intermatic does for the TN311.

Key terms

Load rating, resistive load, motor load, mechanical timer, smart plug, restore state, local schedule and cCSAus.

Everything in this topic

Guides

Common questions

Can a 15 amp smart plug run an aquarium pump?

Check the motor rating, not the 15 A headline. TP-Link lists the Kasa EP25P4 at 15 A maximum but rates it for a 1/6 HP motor, which is far lower. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

What is a resistive load?

A load like a heating element that draws steady current with no startup surge. Timers often state their highest rating for resistive loads, so it is not the figure to use for motors. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

What does a ballast rating mean on a timer?

It is the rating for lights that use a ballast, such as older fluorescent fixtures. Intermatic rates the TN311 at 15 A for magnetic ballast; BN-LINK rates the U47 at 5 A for ballast. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Does a timer without a motor rating work for pumps?

We would not assume so. BN-LINK's U47 page states resistive, tungsten and ballast ratings but no motor rating, so its suitability for pumps is not stated. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Should I put a filter on a timer?

Generally no: timers suit lights and other noncritical loads. A filter or air pump switched off by mistake is a welfare problem, not an inconvenience. More in Timer and smart plug load ratings

Will a smart plug keep my light schedule if the Wi-Fi goes down?

For the Kasa EP25P4, we could not find out. TP-Link does not state whether its schedules run without the cloud or what the plug does after a power outage. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Does a mechanical timer keep time after a power cut?

A plain dial timer with no battery reserve stops turning while the power is off, so its schedule shifts by the length of the outage. Check and reset it after any outage. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Is FCC on a smart plug a safety mark?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference; it is not an electrical shock or fire safety listing. More in Mechanical timer or smart plug?

Questions

Mechanical timer or smart plug for aquarium lights?

Both can switch lights. A mechanical timer such as Intermatic's TN311 is a 24-hour timer set with trippers; a smart plug such as Kasa's EP25P4 is scheduled over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. TP-Link does not state whether the EP25P4 restores its state after an outage. Compare them in mechanical timer vs smart plug.[1][2]

Is a 15 A smart plug fine for any aquarium equipment?

Not automatically. TP-Link rates the EP25P4 at 15 A but only 1/6 HP for motors, and Intermatic rates the TN311 at 1/3 HP for motors. Check the rating that matches your load in timer load ratings explained.[2][1]

Is the Intermatic TN311 UL listed?

Intermatic lists a cCSAus certification for the TN311, which is CSA certification valid for the US and Canada. It does not show a UL listing, so describe it as CSA certified.[1]

Does an FCC mark mean a smart plug is electrically safe?

No. FCC equipment authorization covers radio-frequency rules such as interference and RF exposure. Shock and fire safety is a separate listing from a testing lab, which for the EP25P4 TP-Link states as UL.[4][2]

Sources and changes

  1. TN311 Indoor Mechanical Plug-In Timer (Intermatic) · Manufacturer · Intermatic TN311 product page (read in a browser; specifications tab): input, load ratings by type, minimum on/off, events, plug, certification, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring EP25P4 - Specifications (TP-Link) · Manufacturer · TP-Link US EP25P4 page incl. specifications: input, maximum load incl. motor rating, Wi-Fi band, certification, operating environment, materials. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Equipment Authorization (U.S. Federal Communications Commission) · Standard · FCC OET equipment authorization overview (read in a browser): RF devices authorized under 47 CFR part 2 before marketing/importation; Certification and SDoC procedures; purpose. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.