Guide · Automatic feeders
Automatic feeder specs compared
Capacity, feeds per day, power, mounting and guarantee for EHEIM, JUWEL, Fish Mate, Aquarium Co-Op and hygger feeders, as each maker states them, with the gaps marked.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money · How we research
Short answer
The makers' own figures differ most on capacity, power and where they sell. EHEIM states about 100 ml, Aquarium Co-Op about 200 ml and hygger 350 or 500 ml for its HG169; Fish Mate counts meals instead, up to 14. Three are battery feeders, Aquarium Co-Op's has a rechargeable battery, and EHEIM's Wi-Fi model and the JUWEL are documented only for Europe. No maker publishes reliability data, so none of these figures tells you which feeder will work every time.
How to read this page
Every figure here is the maker's own statement, cited to its page or manual. We do not test feeders. Where a maker does not state something, the table says "not stated". Marketing lines about accuracy, peace of mind or how many days you can be away are left out, because no source backs them.
Capacity, feeds and portions
| Feeder | Capacity (maker) | Feeds per day | How a portion is set |
|---|---|---|---|
| EHEIM autofeeder (3581) | About 100 ml, mainly flake food[1] | Up to 4, each one or two drum rotations[2] | Slider on the drum opening[2] |
| EHEIM autofeeder+ (Wi-Fi) | About 125 ml[3] | Not compared here | Not compared here |
| JUWEL EasyFeed | 75 ml[4] | 1, or 2 with the second six hours after the first[4] | Not stated in the text we read |
| Fish Mate F14 | Up to 14 meals[5] | 1 to 4[5] | Pre-filled compartments; each meal over about two hours[6] |
| Aquarium Co-Op Auto Feeder | About 200 ml[7] | Up to 4[7] | Precision port for small foods on units from 3/26/26[7] |
| hygger HG169 | 350 ml or 500 ml[8] | Not compared here | Dry food up to 3 mm diameter[8] |
| hygger HG082 (camera) | 230 ml[9] | Not compared here | Not stated |
Capacity is not trip length. How many days a feeder covers depends on your portion and schedule; see drum vs compartment feeders.
Power
| Feeder | Power (maker) | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| EHEIM autofeeder | Two AA (LR6) 1.5 V alkaline cells; not rechargeables[2] | Shows "LO", then shuts off after about three days[2] |
| EHEIM autofeeder+ | Power supply unit, cable about 200 cm[3] | EU and UK page; no North American voltage, plug or certification found |
| JUWEL EasyFeed | AA LR6 alkaline[4] | Reprogram after removing the batteries[4] |
| Fish Mate F14 | One AA alkaline, about 12 months in continuous use[6] | Closer Pets says over a year[5] |
| Aquarium Co-Op Auto Feeder | Built-in lithium-ion, USB-C, about 3 hours to charge[7] | Maker says 3-6 months a charge depending on use; can stay plugged in[7] |
| hygger HG082 | Not stated | No input voltage, plug or safety certification published for this model |
Battery runtimes are makers' figures, not measurements. For a mains-powered feeder, read the 120 V vs 230 V guide before you buy.
Mounting
| Feeder | How it mounts (maker) |
|---|---|
| EHEIM autofeeder | Bracket for open-top tanks; also fits feeder openings in EHEIM VARILUX hoods[1] |
| Fish Mate F14 | Over a 30 mm (1-1/4 in) feeding hole in the hood, or on two supplied clamps; condensation tray not normally recommended unless air-fed[6] |
| Aquarium Co-Op Auto Feeder | Clamp for rims up to 0.9 in (24 mm); adhesive pad for flat surfaces[7] |
| hygger HG169 | For tank walls up to 0.7 in (18 mm) or 1.06 in (27 mm), depending on size[8] |
hygger's page lists the two wall thicknesses alongside the two capacities without spelling out which goes with which; check the listing for your size.
Guarantees and where each is documented
| Feeder | Guarantee (maker) | Documented for |
|---|---|---|
| EHEIM autofeeder | Not compared here | EU (EHEIM says its symbol means conformity with EU standards)[2] |
| EHEIM autofeeder+ | 3 years[3] | EU and UK |
| JUWEL EasyFeed | 24 months, excluding misuse[4] | EU |
| Fish Mate F14 | 3-year guarantee, per Closer Pets[5] | Closer Pets; check that it covers your store |
| Aquarium Co-Op Auto Feeder | 1 year[7] | US store page |
The EHEIM battery autofeeder needs no mains certification because it runs on batteries; the EHEIM and JUWEL pages we read are European, and we found no US seller detail for either.
What no maker states
- Reliability. We found no independent, standardized repeatability or failure-rate data for any consumer feeder.
- Days away. No source we found sets a safe time without food, so a feeder's capacity cannot be turned into a safe trip length. See how long fish can go without food.
- Camera feeder power. hygger publishes no input voltage, plug or certification for the HG082.
The feeder in our catalog
Of these feeders, the Fish Mate F14 is the one in our catalog. It is battery-powered and documented by its maker's manual.[6]
Next
Questions
Which automatic feeder holds the most food?
Of the maker figures we found, hygger lists its HG169 in 350 ml and 500 ml sizes, Aquarium Co-Op states about 200 ml and EHEIM about 100 ml for its standard autofeeder. More food is not more days: that depends on your portion and schedule.[8][7][1]
Is the EHEIM autofeeder+ sold for 120 V outlets?
We found no North American voltage, plug or certification information for it. The page we read is EHEIM's EU and UK page, which describes a power supply unit, so do not assume it suits a US or Canadian outlet.[3]
Which feeders run on batteries?
The EHEIM autofeeder runs on two AA alkaline cells, the JUWEL EasyFeed on AA alkaline cells and the Fish Mate F14 on one AA alkaline cell. Aquarium Co-Op's Auto Feeder has a built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery charged over USB-C.[2][4][6][7]
What guarantee do feeder makers give?
As stated by each maker: Aquarium Co-Op gives its Auto Feeder a 1-year warranty, JUWEL gives the EasyFeed 24 months under EU terms, EHEIM gives the autofeeder+ 3 years, and Closer Pets states a 3-year guarantee for the Fish Mate F14. Check whether a guarantee covers the store you buy from.[7][4][3][5]
Which feeder is the most reliable?
No one can say. We found no independent, standardized repeatability or failure-rate data for any consumer feeder, and no maker publishes any. Test any feeder at home before a trip.